National Awards for Excellence in Journalism

The Press Council of India has been mandated by the Parliament to improve the standards of journalism and maintain its freedom. This, it has been ensuring through its adjudications as well as pronouncements and reports on specific issues.

To encourage the media to pursue its duties effectively without fear or favour following the dictum of ‘freedom with responsibility’, the Press Council of India, as the only statutory authority enjoying such mandate, has instituted National Awards to honour journalists excelling in print journalism in various fields from 2012 onwards.

Whereas one main Award ‘Raja Ram Mohan Roy National Award for Excellence in Journalism’ in honour of one of the greatest reformer journalists of the country, carries a cash award of Rupees One Lakh, a plaque and a citation, the remaining awards in the fields decided every year carry Rupees fifty thousand each, a plaque and a citation.

The Press Council of India honours the journalists selected by the Jury/Council for having excelled in various fields on the occasion of National Press Day, 16th November.

List of Awardees:

S. No.TitleDocument TypeView / Download AwardeeView / Download Winning Article / Photograph
Awardees, 2019
Awardees, 2018
Awardees, 2017
Awardees, 2016
Awardees, 2015

Last Updated On :

Visitors : 240145